Stuck at how to continue

Nov 17, 2011 at 2:53 PM

Hi I'm new with this kinect sdk and im trying to implement gestures to my program

thus i saw your project and started experimenting with it. so after i have record the gesture, and save it what should i do or how i put it into my program..

and lastly i realize that im having some trouble with the main window program, each time i click on 'load gesture file' or 'save to file' the program crash

Please help..

Thank You

Nov 18, 2011 at 6:40 AM

Hi,

you can simply test the project by just capturing a gesture (without saving it to a file). Lets say you capture a gesture for "@Right hand swipe left". After capturing the gesture you can just repeat the gesture and you should see the result in the textbox right under the combobox.

I assume your mainwindow crashes becaus you unpacked the project in a different directory. Have a look in the MainWindow-class. Somewhere at the beginning there must be a definition of the filelocation.

/// <summary>
/// Where we will save our gestures to. The app will append a data/time and .txt to this string
/// </summary>
private const string GestureSaveFileLocation = @"H:\My Dropbox\Dropbox\Microsoft Kinect SDK Beta\DTWGestureRecognition\DTWGestureRecognition\";

The program may crash because there is no such filelocation on your computer. Just change the filelocation to some other location on your computer. Maybe its a good idea to make the path relative in the next release?

Kind regards 

Nov 19, 2011 at 9:07 AM

Hi 

Thanks for the reply & i have fix the crashes..

But after i capture and save the gesture to a text file how do i use it for my program..

Thanks

Irfan

Nov 19, 2011 at 9:27 AM

Hi,

I guess I'm not sure what you're trying to do. What do you mean with "... how do i use it for my programm."?

If you're having another programm and you want to use this DTW-gesturerecognition, you're suppost to insert the relevant parts for the gesturerecognition in your application.